

Meeting: CAP Annual Stated Meeting

Date: September 25, 2021

Location: Chicago, Illinois and Virtual

Meeting start date/time

September 25, 2021 / 4:10 PM

Meeting end date/time

September 25, 2021 / 5:10 PM

CALL TO ORDER

Patrick Godbey, MD, FCAP, CAP President, called to order the Annual Stated Meeting of the College of American Pathologists at 4:10 PM (CT), September 25, 2021, virtually and in the Hyatt Regency, Chicago, Illinois.

IN MEMORIAM

Dr. Godbey asked everyone to observe a moment of silence in remembrance of Governor, Mary E. Fowkes, MD, PhD, and all of the colleagues lost in the past year.

MINUTES

Richard Gomez, MD, FCAP, CAP secretary-treasurer joined virtually and thanked everyone who assisted during his term. It was moved, seconded and carried to dispense with the reading of the minutes, and to **APPROVE** the minutes of the October 10, 2020, Annual Business meeting of the College of American Pathologists as published in the December 2020 issue of *CAP Today*.

PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER ADDRESS

Dr. Godbey addressed the membership and introduced Stephen Myers, chief executive officer, who provided a reflection of the past year of the state of the CAP.

RECOGNITION OF RETIRING BOARD MEMBERS

Dr. Godbey returned to the stage and acknowledged outgoing Governors Alfred W. Campbell, MD, MBA, FCAP, Raouf E. Nakhleh, MD, FCAP, and Nancy A. Young, MD, FCAP.

CAP VOTING RESULTS AND INSTALLATIONS

Dr. Godbey announced the following members were elected as Governors for 2021 – 2023.

- Rebecca L. Johnson, MD, FCAP, for her first term
- Guillermo Martinez-Torres, MD, FCAP, for his first term
- Richard M. Scanlan, MD, FCAP, for his second term
- C. Leilani Valdes, MD, FCAP, for her first term

The Governors were sworn in and took the oath of office.

Dr. Godbey announced that Alfred W. Campbell, MD, MBA, FCAP, was elected as secretary-treasurer for 2021 – 2024. Dr. Campbell was sworn in and took the oath of office.

Dr. Godbey announced that Donald S. Karcher, MD, FCAP, was elected as president-elect for 2021 – 2023. Dr. Karcher was sworn in and took the oath of office.

INAUGURATION OF CAP PRESIDENT

Dr. Godbey introduced the CAP's past presidents; Dr. Paul Bachner, Dr. Paul Raslavicus, Dr. Thomas M. Sodeman, Dr. Stephen N. Bauer, Dr. Stanley J. Robboy, Dr. Richard Friedberg, and Dr. R. Bruce Williams, who virtually joined Dr. Godbey on stage.

Dr. Godbey asked Emily E. Volk, MD, FCAP and her husband, Daniel Mais, MD, FCAP, to join him on stage. Dr. Volk was sworn in as the CAP's 37th president and took the oath of office.

Dr. Volk addressed the membership in her inaugural speech.

OTHER BUSINESS AND ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Volk called for old business and new business to come before the CAP membership meeting. Hearing none, she adjourned the Annual Stated Meeting of the CAP at 5:10 PM (CT).