Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

August 11, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

Thank you for your continuing efforts to provide our healthcare specialists with much-needed and meaningful aid to allow them to continue operations during this pandemic. However, it has come to our attention that many specialists are being targeted for ill-conceived and sizeable cuts that simply no longer make sense to implement.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' (CMS) final CY2020 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule rule published in November 2019 increased rates for the office-based evaluation and management (E/M) code set in CY2021. Due to the requirement for budget neutrality, this would result in a significant cut for many providers, across multiple specialties, beginning on January 1, 2021.

If these cuts go into effect, they will be devastating for providers and will ultimately result in decreased access to care for patients. Our healthcare system is already under tremendous financial strain, as it continues to grapple with both the economic and health consequences of the coronavirus. Now is not the time to implement these reckless cuts.

We ask that, in any upcoming and relevant legislation moving through the House, you waive budget neutrality for Calendar Years 2021 and 2022 for the E/M codes scheduled for implementation on January 1, 2021 as described in the final rule (84. Fed. Reg. 62568, 62847-62860). We also request that CMS reports to Congress on the overarching effects of the COVID-19 public health emergency. Specifically, Congress should require CMS to study how COVID-19 has impacted access to critical health services in underserved urban and rural Health Professional Shortage Areas, as well as the impact on providers of failing to waive budget neutrality associated with the E/M policy.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. If we can answer any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

ath I lush

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

/s/ Don Young Member of Congress

/s/ Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

/s/ Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

/s/ Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

/s/ Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

/s/ John Shimkus Member of Congress

/s/ Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

/s/ Rick Larsen Member of Congress /s/ Collin C. Peterson Member of Congress

/s/ Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

/s/ Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

/s/ Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

/s/ Ron Kind Member of Congress

/s/ Barbara Lee Member of Congress

/s/ James R. Langevin Member of Congress

/s/ Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress /s/ Joe Wilson Member of Congress

/s/ Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

/s/ Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

/s/ Steve Cohen Member of Congress

/s/ Peter Welch Member of Congress

/s/ Marcia L. Fudge Member of Congress

/s/ Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

/s/ Ted Deutch Member of Congress /s/ C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

/s/ Albio Sires Member of Congress

/s/ Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

/s/ David Loebsack Member of Congress

/s/ André Carson Member of Congress

/s/ Pete Olson Member of Congress

/s/ Paul Tonko Member of Congress

/s/ David N. Cicilline Member of Congress /s/ Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

/s/ Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

/s/ Steve Stivers Member of Congress

/s/ Joyce Beatty Member of Congress

/s/ Julia Brownley Member of Congress

/s/ Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

/s/ Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

/s/ Alan S. Lowenthal Member of Congress /s/ William R. Keating Member of Congress

/s/ Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

/s/ Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

/s/ Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress

/s/ Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

/s/ Rodney Davis Member of Congress

/s/ Ann M. Kuster Member of Congress

/s/ Mark Pocan Member of Congress /s/ Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

/s/ Mike Bost Member of Congress

/s/ Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

/s/ David Rouzer Member of Congress

/s/ Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

/s/ Ted Budd Member of Congress

/s/ Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

/s/ Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress /s/ Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

/s/ Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

/s/ Brenda L. Lawrence Member of Congress

/s/ Dwight Evans Member of Congress

/s/ Jack Bergman Member of Congress

/s/ Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

/s/ Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

/s/ Al Lawson, Jr. Member of Congress /s/ Darren Soto Member of Congress

/s/ Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

/s/ Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

/s/ Cynthia Axne Member of Congress

/s/ Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

/s/ Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

/s/ Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

/s/ Mark E. Green, M.D. Member of Congress /s/ Greg Gianforte Member of Congress

/s/ Susan Wild Member of Congress

/s/ Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress

/s/ Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

/s/ Angie Craig Member of Congress

/s/ Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

/s/ Lance Gooden Member of Congress

/s/ Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress /s/ Andy Kim Member of Congress

/s/ Greg Stanton Member of Congress

/s/ Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress /s/ Chris Pappas Member of Congress

/s/ Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

/s/ Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

/s/ Fred Upton Member of Congress

/s/ Steve King Member of Congress

/s/ Dean Phillips Member of Congress /s/ Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

/s/ Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress